Tags

, , , ,

I visited my surgeon’s office on Monday.  He was out of the office, so I had my routine x-rays and met with his PA. She didn’t seem surprised or alarmed that my range of motion is not better than it is.  I confessed that I’ve spent much more time on other “un fun” physical activities like  the garage sale and regrouting the shower, than on traditional physical therapy.  

I think I’ll improve in stiffness and pain if I make time every morning for a few PT exercises.   As for the pain, in the shoulder, it’s more of a stiffness and discomfort than pain.  When I do a lot of standing, I get a burning pain in my shoulder (muscular, I assume).  It usually happens when I’m wearing a bra! 

I still have a mild ache all the way down the top of my arm from the shoulder to the fingers and thumb, made much more uncomfortable with cold.  I still can’t lift something out of the refrigerator with that hand without feeling a chill down that arm, and I have to bundle up for a cool day.  In the summer, I carried a sweater or jacket in the case of an extra cool air conditioned building.   This is a complaint that I’ve heard a lot from people who have had a lot of chemotherapy.  I hope that it will improve.

That’s all for now.  My next appointment with the surgeon is this time next year.  The shoulder has been so much of the center of my life, it’s hard to believe that it’s been 13 months!