Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ve been working like crazy preparing for a big garage sale this weekend, and am now stepping over piles of treasures throughout the house.   After an entire year of total neglect, I have a lot of work to do on the garage and yard to get ready for yard sale visitors this weekend, and have been sweeping, scrubbing,  hosing down, and hauling trash to the curb.  While  rearranging heavy steel angle iron real estate signs, I let one slip and whack me right across my upper arm where the plate is.  OUCH!  I stopped and put a cold pack on it, and I think I’ve gotten by with just a big bruise.

A friend and former client posted a message today on Facebook listing the top 10 things she can’t wait to do when she’s recovered from her rotator cuff surgery. One of them was eat a Burger King Whopper, and that made me laugh.  She’s right – there’s no way to do that with one hand!  It was a good reminder of how far I’ve come in basic function. Although my range of motion is not great, and sleep is broken, there’s not much I can’t do with my left arm. 

I know that cleaning and hauling trash doesn’t qualify as physical therapy, but I haven’t had the energy to do my regular exercises in addition to getting the house/garage in order.  When this is over, I need to get back to regular physical therapy exercises every morning.  My arm and shoulder feel so much better all day if I set aside just a half hour for PT.

I hope everyone out there is doing better.   October 14th will be the first anniversary of my accident, and my last visit with my surgeon is in mid-November. It’s been quite a challenging year in every way, but I’m grateful for the small things that make me smile.